Another Day

Life’s been weird lately, as you might have guessed from my last post, which was decidedly more Picasso than usual (to understand what I mean, you’ll have to go read this post at Red Umbrella).  But some interesting discussion was generated in the comments section, the upshot of which I totally agree. 

Life in general can get messed up but we have to deal with it, hope for the best, and enjoy whatever small pleasures are available.

Most of my angst over the weekend stems from a conversation with the company who holds the mortgage on our two homes in Florida.   Like many other people, we got caught smack dab in the middle of the housing market meltdown, and our rental property is now worth less than we owe on the mortgage.

Nasty business, that.  I won’t go into any of the gory details, but we’re faced with some rather tough choices in the coming months. 

So I spent the weekend being mad at the world in general and myself in particular for thinking I could make a killing in the real estate market.  There really are no free rides, and I know that.  Just a lifetime of honest, hard work, which is something with which I’m quite familiar (and by the looks of things will continue being familiar with until I’m at least 80!)

Speaking of work, there’s some weirdness going on at my company these days.  We’ve had a rash of new hires who last about three weeks and then bail.  My boss, who has been working yeoman’s duty picking up all the slack from these slackers, is about to throw in the towel.  The latest defection occurred today – a young woman who hired started on the job three weeks ago, left a message this morning stating the job “just wasn’t for her,” and she wouldn’t be returning. 

In retrospect, I should have suspected something yesterday when I noticed she had taken the 8×10 glossy photo of her family home with her.

I’m wondering-in a state where unemployment is higher than just about anywhere and the cost of living is pretty steep too, how can people be so cavalier about jobs?  And where is the sense of responsibility?  Our company is very small, and the presence (or absence) of one person makes a huge difference in terms of profitability. 

To top it off, it’s a super nice place to work.  It’s a very professional environment, all women, great teamwork atmosphere, flexible schedule with the ability to work at home, decent pay, 401K program – I just don’t get it. 

What do women want, anyway?

So, if you know of a good, level headed nurse out there who’d relish the opportunity to work in case management with a group of intelligent women, send her my way would you?

Along with someone who’d like to buy some swampland in Florida (smiles).

 

11 thoughts on “Another Day

  1. If only we lived closer, I might just take you up on that offer. I wonder if our states grant reciprocity on licensing….? Our company has had the same recent rash of quitters, only ours seem to last only a few days. As the one who does the in- and out-processing, I’d appreciate it if they would at least let me get the hiring paperwork finished before I had to deal with the termination paperwork.

    I’m glad you have recovered from the real estate shock and are making a game plan. We’re all in the same pot of soup.

  2. As far as people being cavalier about jobs, hearing that your latest defection was a young person doesn’t surprise me at all. Some studies I’ve read recently paint a picture of the difference in mindsets between today’s young workers and the previous generations.

    Previous generations did whatever they could to make sure there was money in the bank and their families were taken care of, no matter how much they hated their jobs. But today’s generations (hey, that would be me!) place job satisfaction higher on the list than shooting for big money. Many of them feel like they can always move back in with their parents if times get rough — and by that I mean, if they start thinking their job “isn’t for them.” There used to be quite a social stigma attached to living with your parents into adulthood, but like so many other social norms and niceties, it seems to be taking a backseat to personal convenience.

    Inescapably, I count myself among the ranks of today’s generation. And yes, job satisfaction is very high on my list of needs. I’ve been extremely lucky that I’ve never been forced between a rock and a hard place — stuck with a job I hate, unable to quit because there’s nowhere else to go and I have to keep food on the table. But I’ve got to believe that if it came to that, I’d soldier through and not give in to my pettiness. I can’t imagine quitting a job, selling my house and saying “Ah, my parents will take us in — there’s room in their basement!” simply because I’ve decided I don’t like working.

    I’ve often wondered (not without some worry, I must admit) about the real estate situation you guys are in. I’m sorry that it’s coming to a head. Let us know if there’s anything we can do to help you; Apple in particular has become a financial maven lately. Making the tough, painful life choices now is better than turning a blind eye and plodding on hoping it’ll fix itself, as you only fall deeper into the hole. You guys showed us that light two years ago and saved us from getting royally screwed. Perhaps, in some small way, we can return the favor.

  3. Star – Oh, how I wish you could come to work for us 🙂 I have a feeling you’d fit in perfectly.

    Chief Oddball-It’s funny, but I was thinking about you today- thinking about how you would certainly never give up on a job after three weeks just because you felt it wasn’t “you.” I do think people have more sense of entitlement about job satisfaction today than in past generations. And they aren’t so willing to compromise that precisely because they feel they don’t have to. There’s always some other job or some other alternative (parent’s basements!) out there waiting. Of course, you would always be welcome in ours, but I’m sure you’ll never need it.

    As for the real estate situation,any thoughts on the subject are welcome. Both your opinions are highly valued here. Hmmm…maybe we could come live in your basement??

  4. You’d be more than welcome in our basement, except that we don’t have one, as you well know — silly sea level and all that. 😉

    Apple and I were discussing this tonight, although we realized that we don’t have all the details about your situation. I’d be happy to talk to you tomorrow and share some info and ideas, for what they’re worth. You might learn something new! 🙂

  5. The only thing I can say about these women and the job situation is that I think nursing is one of the few jobs still in demand. I understand there’s a real shortage. I hope they’re not expecting any job to be “perfect” though! Sorry about your real estate situation. Were you planning on selling it? Otherwise perhaps you can ignore the paper loss and wait it out. Or am I missing something? Good luck, whatever the case!

  6. Oh, I know what you mean about Florida real estate or any real estate right now. The market is “down” here too and almost everywhere else.

    As for the new employee situation at your company, unbelievable! I have a friend who may lose her job soon because of the slow down in the economy. Her company isn’t doing well. She’s 59 and single. She must work. It’s very scary.

    Good luck on your Florida houses.

  7. I don’t do real estate…and I don’t need any swampland thanks…I think I’d make a muck of the whole buy and sell thing — it was enough to just buy this one house!!!

    As for employees…there is such a lack of consideration and responsibility these days…as if there are greener pastures to be found…it says something about “us” as society these days I think…we are never satisfied? Don’t know a good thing when we’ve got it? Always looking ahead to getting ahead, thinking somewhere else will provide what we lack…it’s a different world these days, that’s for sure.

  8. I’m glad to know your mood has lifted a bit, but it’s understandable with the very real situation you’ve found yourselves in that you’d be worried. What to do? What to do? I’m afraid I couldn’t offer any advice, and much as I’d like to have a holiday home somewhere warm, I don’t think I could stretch to it! Hopefully the right way forward will become clear for you soon.

  9. I’ve decided to rent and wait it out with re-financing. I’m renting to my daughter and that scares me to death. The attitude of some of these kids are “whatever.”

    I heard the interest rates might go lower for housing or higher for the economy…argh!

    I’m with ya gal! XXOO

  10. Becca,
    I knew you’d bounce back, you’re that type of upbeat person at heart.
    My wife retires from Nursing this Friday. Had enough says she, wants to putter, plant and maybe open a bed and breakfast.
    Me? I plan to work ’til they close the lid.
    We own swampland in Englewood, thanks anyway. 😉
    rel

  11. We have two properties on the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Let me tell you about a dead real estate market….

    Actually, neither of them was intended to be a money-maker. One is a little cabin in the woods on a small lake and the other is on Lake Superior in a little town nearby. It’s a three-car garage with an apartment over it with room to build a small home if and when we decide to spend enough time up there.

    We don’t rent out either of them. My dilemma is whether or not we need two properties when we live 1,000 miles away. My OH prefers the cabin; I love looking out our big windows for the Lake Superior view. So, we pay for both of them — at least for now.

    Sorry your Florida properties got caught in the real estate price corrections. If you can still rent one or both, their value should eventually go back up.

    And, like you, I don’t understand what’s wrong with the people who don’t like your office. Perhaps the new hires need more help learning their duties and getting acclimated. And, from what I’ve heard, the Michigan economy is one of the worst in the country right now. People should be lining up for good jobs.

Leave a comment