Sunday Scribblings-Sleep

“hush-a-bye, don’t you cry, go to sleepy little baby…”

Sleep is my nemesis.  Just ask my mother – the stories of my sleeping -or non sleeping- habits as an infant are notorious in our family.

“There I’d be,” my mother will say, “lying in bed with you there beside me, and I’d finally doze off because I was just so tired, but then I’d wake up and you’d be staring at me with those big dark eyes, wide awake and looking all excited.”

Yep, that’s me. 

There’s always so many more interesting things to do besides sleep.  Books to read, music to listen to and to play, stories to write, friends to visit, movies to see, walks and bike rides to take, food to cook…the possibilities in life are endless.  Why waste time sleeping, when all the world lies before you?

Most children defy bedtime, and my parents wisely never forced me to bed early.  They trusted me to get the sleep I needed, and apparently I did, for I grew to be a normal, healthy young woman.  Now my mother claims I didn’t like sleeping because I was “bright” and “didn’t want to miss a minute of anything going on.”

Actually, she’s probably right – at least the part about not wanting to miss things.  Because the older I get, the less I like to sleep.  After all, there’s only so much time in this one wonderful life, and now that I’m into the second half of my century, who knows how much of it I have left. 

So why waste it sleeping?

click here for more thoughts about sleeping

 

14 thoughts on “Sunday Scribblings-Sleep

  1. I’ve never been one to remember dreams, so sleep offers no “place” for escape or fantasy for me. I would never consider my sleep as “slumber”. That evokes a gentle and delicious state to welcome, then linger in. No, I sleep like I brush my teeth. It’s something I have to do. I try to fight its coming since, like you say, it seems like wasted time, but there’s not much chance of winning when over your body’s call to it.

  2. In some ways I’m very much like you, and in other ways very different. I love to sleep – love it. And since I’m chronically exhausted I fantasize about long peaceful sleeps. When it comes to actually going to bed however I can spend hours procrastinating and avoiding my bed. Somehow no matter how exhausted I am I just can’t bear to tear myself away and go to sleep.

  3. I find myself falling to sleep in the evening on the sofa and then waking up to spend part of the night at the computer or reading or working on knitting/crocheting. I used to love to snuggle in bed under the covers and sleep and sleep, but my arthritis doesn’t seem to like that any more. Maybe it’s time for a new mattress.

  4. Although I often stay up late, I love, love sleep. And more than my night’s sleep, I have come to really treasure an afternoon nap, too. It feels so luxurious and pampering to snuggle on the couch with cushions and a soft throw, light dimmed and gentle music playing me to sleep. Delicious!

  5. Yes, too many more interesting things to do than sleep! I sleep probably not enough – a maximum of six hours; seven or eight if I’m ill. I got into the habit at college of six hours per night and all these years later, it’s the same routine!

  6. So true Becca!! I was that type of child..I’d pinch myself to stay awake and both my boys have done the same thing — anything but sleep. Too much to miss!! And yet, we all seem to get just the amount we need.

  7. What a great post- you’ve reminded me that there is something to be gained from staying awake! I had promised my husband I would go to bed early every night he is away this week, but have instead read in bed until 1 or 2 am! Bliss- I’ve loved every minute of it!

  8. Exactly! “Why waste time sleeping?” There’s more bloggig to do and books to read and projects to work on. But I usually pay the price in the morning, by being really tired.

  9. What a great post for reflection of my growing up years. I loved to read, but I don’t remember staying up reading all night like I did in my twenties. Our bodies must have been wiser to tell us we needed more sleep. Now I listen to my body… I just got up from a wonderful Sunday nap!

Leave a comment