Grace

 

Through many dangers toils and snares

I have already come,

‘Tis grace that brought me safe this far

And grace will lead me home.

 ~Amazing Grace, by John Newton

 

 I sat in church last Sunday and listened to our choir singing these words.  This is my favorite verse of one of my favorite hymns, and as many times as I’ve heard it and sung it, it had special meaning for me last week. 

Whether one calls it grace or faith or luck, there is something that keeps us moving forward through all kinds of adversity, something that mends broken hearts, strengthens tired spirits, gives us the courage to pick ourselves up and go on.  It is truly amazing, and I’m thankful for it.

May today bring you and yours all the grace you need, for whatever reason you need it.

Happy Thanksgiving.

 

3 thoughts on “Grace

  1. So eloquent and beautifully, simply said. So many of us have experienced a shift this year, haven’t we. It IS grace that brings us home.

    Happy (day after) Thanksgiving.

Leave a comment