Write On Wednesday: Writing Style Meme

I was a strange little girl – I loved homework.  I still recall the bitter disappointment on my first day of kindergarten when the teacher did not give us books to take home or a homework assignment to complete.  This week’s Write On Wednesday is to placate my inner child, who’s been awakened by all the back to school advertising and the plethora of school supplies in every store.

It’s an assignment!  Answer the following questions about your writing habits/style.

Goodie!

Wait, I have to get some clean paper… and sharpen my pencil…hang on, maybe I’ll use this notebook instead, the one with the pretty purple cover…

O-kaaay…I’ll get to work now.

  1. Do you write fiction or non-fiction?  Or both?  I actually do write both, although I’ve always considered myself more of a non-fiction writer.  I have fun dabbling in fiction, especially at NaNoWriMo time!
  2. Do you keep a journal or a writing notebook?  I write morning pages quite religioiusly, and use ordinary spiral notebooks you buy in the Walgreen’s.  I kept a separate notebook for the last novella I wrote, with divided sections for research, ideas for plot and character development.
  3.  If you write fiction, do you know your characters’ goals, motivations, and conflicts before you start writing or is that something else you discover only after you start writing? Do you find books on plotting useful or harmful?  In the two novellas I’ve written, I had a pretty good idea of the characters goals and motivations.  As I wrote, some rather surprising things turned up, and they were so interesting I decided to use them.
  4.  Are you a procrastinator or does the itch to write keep at you until you sit down and work?  Sigh.  Mostly a procrastinator.  But when I do make it to the page, I can go on for hours.
  5. Do you write in short bursts of creative energy, or can you sit down and write for hours at a time? .  See above.  However, if I’m pressed for time, sometimes I get a lot done because I know I don’t have the luxury of doodling around.
  6. Are you a morning or afternoon writer? Definitely morning.  Or late night.  Not much in between, which is usually reserved for the detritus of everyday life.
  7. Do you write with music/the noise of children/in a cafe or other public setting, or do you need complete silence to concentrate?  I really need SILENCE.  Have to have it.
  8. Computer or longhand? (or typewriter?) Mostly good old Microsoft word.  If I write longhand, I get going so fast the writing becomes illegible.
  9. Do you know the ending before you type Chapter One?  Or do you let the story evolve as you write?  I ususally think I know the ending – but it seems like it often surprises me!
  10. Does what’s selling in the market influence how and what you write?  Not really.  I think I write the kind of things I like to read, in my fiction and non-fiction – stories about real women facing real life situations and emotions. 
  11. Editing/Revision – love it or hate it?   Hate it.  Scared to death of it.  Desperately need help with it.  Sigh.

If you’d like to be part of the class, go on over to Write On Wednesday and join in 🙂

10 thoughts on “Write On Wednesday: Writing Style Meme

  1. Noo! Revision is the best bit! Never be afraid to tackle editing; editing and revision can turn a bad story into a good one, and a good story into a great one.

    What is it about revision that scares you?

  2. 1. Do you write fiction or non-fiction? Or both?

    I write fiction, nonfiction for work…so that’s not as fun.

    2. Do you keep a journal or a writing notebook? I have notebooks for research, though mostly internet printouts and photocopies these days. no more writing journals, just on the computer..

    3. If you write fiction, do you know your characters’ goals, motivations, and conflicts before you start writing or is that something else you discover only after you start writing? Do you find books on plotting useful or harmful?

    I usually discover the goals and conflicts while writing, but know their motivations beforehand. I cannot plot ahead of time, despite my attempts to do so.

    4. Are you a procrastinator or does the itch to write keep at you until you sit down and work?

    Procrastinator during the week when I have to come home from work.

    5. Do you write in short bursts of creative energy, or can you sit down and write for hours at a time?

    usually short bursts of creative energy, but some turn into long bursts of creativity.

    6. Are you a morning or afternoon writer?

    I’m a morning writer, which is why my creativity is shot by the time I get off work….its hard for me to get back in the groove.

    7. Do you write with music/the noise of children/in a cafe or other public setting, or do you need complete silence to concentrate?

    I like noise, keeps me motivated and creative.

    8. Computer or longhand? (or typewriter?)

    mostly computer, unless it’s poetry, then that is done longhand.

    9. Do you know the ending before you type Chapter One? Or do you let the story evolve as you write?

    No. Though there is one exception to that rule.

    10. Does what’s selling in the market influence how and what you write?

    o god no. I don’t care what they think.

    11. Editing/Revision – love it or hate it?

    I’m addicted to revision, hence why none of my projects are finished…I can’t help it.

  3. Just saying ‘hi.’ The last response, on editing, has been interesting – some love it, some don’t. There IS a balance out there…Can you imagine the kickbutt workshop you’d have if you pulled all of your WOW readers / responders together?

  4. Like oh, I’m intrigued by people’s love-it or hate-it responses to the editing process.

    I’m totally awestruck by your two novellas — and hope we get to see more!

Leave a comment