Saying Something Nice

Lesson from my mother (Number 103): if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything.

That’s why you haven’t heard from me lately.

Nothing nice to say.

However…

A couple of nice somethings…

Last night, a phone call from a young man who’s getting married in October, a young man who lost his only brother to suicide two years ago, a young man who has found his love (his girl Jessie) and his passion (pursuing a PhD in history), a young man who asked me to play piano at his wedding.

Smiling.

Tonight, dinner with my friend Pat, and seeing the movie Mamma Mia, the happiest, most uplifting, energizing, feel-good movie I’ve ever seen. 

“You’ll smile all the way through,” Pat told me, knowing how much I needed to smile.

She was right.

She usually is.

So, I’m saying something nice, right from the movie…

I have a dream, a song to sing

To help me cope with anything

If you see the wonder of a fairy tale

You can take the future even if you fail

I believe in angels

Something good in everything I see

I believe in angels, when I know the time is right for me

I’ll cross the stream,

I have a dream.

 

Sweet dreams.

 

11 thoughts on “Saying Something Nice

  1. Oooh… isn’t that movie just wonderful? I went because friends invited me, then a few days later, I convinced my sister to come, and I went back again day before yesterday. Now, I’m casting about for my next excuse! Uplifting, joyful. And my mother would have loved it. I can see her among that throng in the “Dancing Queen” scene!

  2. Oh, I want to see that movie — Meryl Streep is my hero! And listening to singing along with ABBA is a no-fail cure for restoring good spirits. It sounds like you had a great night out — I hope the mood holds through the weekend.

  3. Glad to hear you had some uplifting times to bring you smiles just when you needed them most. Been missing reading your words. 🙂

  4. I hope things get much easier, soon. I’m also delighted to hear a good review of Mamma Mia. I think I really have to see it. (And my Swedish daughter thinks so, too).

    Huge hugs!

  5. Not everything in life is nice. Sometimes one needs to write about the not so nice things, too. There’s a big difference between being rude and just addressing something that isn’t nice. But, I’m glad to hear you found a couple of things to brighten your day. I’m sorry this summer hasn’t seemed to be going well for you.

  6. That was my Dad’s line… There are moments. I LOVED Mama Mia. Who knew Meryl Streep could sing? And when you’re in Naples… go to Sanibel. That’s a favorite place of mine.

Leave a comment