Porch Sitting

A British porch is a musty, forbidding non-room in which to fling a sodden umbrella or a muddy pair of boots; a guard against the elements and strangers. By contrast the good ol’ American front porch seems to stand for positivity and openness; a platform from which to welcome or wave farewell; a place where things of significance could happen.
Dan Stevens 

 

Summer nights like this evoke memories of sitting on our front porch, eavesdropping on grownup conversation, and feeling very special. Those were quiet and happy times for me, a feeling of comfort and relaxation I still seek.

 

Join me on the front porch in this post at Medium

3 thoughts on “Porch Sitting

  1. I wonder if this is Downton Abbey’s Dan Stevens! I remember many a night when we’d listen to the parents on the porch after we’d gone to bed at the lake… it was a very good time.

  2. How lucky you were to be close to your grandparents. I feel like a big chunk of my life was missing because I hardely knew my grandparents.
    Ah, how I wish we could gather on that big front porch now and ask our grandparents and parents all the questions we didn’t ask when we had the chance in our youth. Thanks for sharing that wonderful memory.

Leave a Reply

