Gratitude

November became my favorite month when this little guy was born last year on the 14th. To celebrate, we’re taking a family trip to Disney World. Oh, we know Connor is too young to remember much about it, but Disney is a special place for our family so it seemed like the perfect way to celebrate this momentous event.

Celebration and gratitude go hand-in-hand, and so I’m also participating in 20 Days of Thanks on Facebook. Starting today until November 22, it’s a way to be mindful of all the good things in our lives. It’s ever so easy to dwell on the negative, especially after a horrible disaster like Hurricane Sandy. I’m grateful for organizations like the Red Cross, grateful I can send a donation to help them do their important work.

Silver linings. Sometimes we have to squint to see them.

Most every time, they are there.

What are you grateful for this month?

3 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. That is such an adorable picture. 🙂 I am thankful for my family and that we have a place to live and we are all healthy. I am thankful for being an American despite how screwed up things may appear. I am thankful that we have the privilege to vote on next Tuesday and that our voices can be heard. I am thankful for the grace of God and his mercy. I am thankful for my church family and for my friends online.

  2. I just got back from a trip to my aunt’s in Kansas City. When I got home yesterday afternoon, these were the things I was grateful for:

    1. That my kitty came out from under the bed after only six hours, and allowed me to sleep in my own bed last night.
    2. The light that streams into my apartment from its multitude of windows. (Motels are dark.)
    3. That I’d remembered to run the dishwasher and do laundry before I left.
    4. That I had work to go back to.
    5. That I’d only put on three pounds while in the care of my relatives.
    6. That at least a few of my photos from the trip came out ok.

    Those are silly little things, and yet it’s the little things that make the difference between a good and a so-so life (or a bad life, when you get right down to it.)

Leave a Reply

