Surprised by Beauty

This morning I stumbled out of bed after another restless night. I first awoke at 4:00 a.m., tossed and turned for a bit, contemplated getting up but decided to stay put a while longer.  Around 6:00 I dozed off, only to be woken again by the classical music station’s version of reveille – a Sousa march which they play each morning at 7:00 a.m.

Very funny.

So the aforementioned stumbling began. My thoughtful husband had generously prepared the coffee, so I poured a cup and shuffled into the living room, where I was stopped dead in my tracks by the views outside my front window.

Despite the old adage about “red sky at morning…(sailors take warning)” I was mesmerized and startled out of my doldrums.

Beauty can surprise us when we least expect it. When it does, revel in it and let it energize your heart and soul.

17 thoughts on “Surprised by Beauty

  1. I think that’s the thing about writing (and taking pictures): you start to notice the beautiful surprises more and more. Love your picture — hope the beauty helped realign your morning, eased your entry into the day…

    • I have heard that is one of the world’s most beautiful places..I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed it 🙂

      Miss you! Enjoy the rest of your journey…can’t wait to hear all about it!

  2. Nature in all it’s forms is what sustains me. Some people love people and want to be around people. Not me – I want to be around nature and the animals that live in nature – sans people. Every morning when I sit at my computer I see the sun rise and it reminds me that the best things in life are truly free.

  3. Beauty is found in the simplest things in life; the morning sky, a lazy snooze in the early morn, that cup of coffee made by a partner….all amazing stuff.
    I love the photos of the early morning sky, they just invigorate me for the day.

  4. I’m in Iowa just now, staying at a place tucked into woods, and was wakened in the middle of the night by the cutest little face peering in the door at me – a raccoon! Sometimes we go journeying to see the world’s wonders, but sometimes they come to our door – like your sunrise!

    • Raccoon’s are definitely surprising little creatures. I think they’re awfully cute, in spite of the mischief I know they can create.

      Enjoy your time away – it sounds peaceful and lovely !

  5. How beautiful! So nice of you to share it with us. I took a drive after a nice rain a few days ago. The sun was going down, and suddenly there was a rainbow up ahead. I love surprises like that.

Leave a Reply

