Falling

I love fall.

Love red and gold leaves sprinkled like “jimmies” over the lush green grass.

Love the crisp cool mornings that demand an extra cup of coffee after we come in from walking.

Love the long, dark evenings when I can stay home curled under a blanket watching new episodes of my favorite TV shows.

Love pulling on cozy warm sweaters and wrapping soft scarves around my neck.

Never mind the cold rain slicing through the sky this minute.

Never mind that fall means an end to flowers and leaves and picnics.

Never mind that winter will follow on the heels of this, my favorite season.

In just about eight weeks, smack dab in the middle of fall, our family will be gifted with new life.

And the season will never be the same.

I love fall.

10 thoughts on “Falling

  1. The season will now be even better! What a great time to be born. I’m an October baby, and I love this time of year. Unfortunately down here, Fall only lasts about two weeks. But I’ll take what I can get. 🙂

    • There is nothing like fall in the Midwest. Driving along the expressway lined with crimson and golden leaves…makes the drive to work just glorious. Sometimes I get so distracted, I could have an accident!

  2. I love everything about this post ~ because we are in my favorite season.
    And with the arrival of your grandson, I’m sure it will be a season you will never forget! I’m so beyond excited & thrilled for you.

  3. Fall is my favorite season. Your poem is lovely and the photo looks like what I saw in the B.C. Coast. But here in Alberta, our fall is crisp, bright and golden.

  4. I love fall, too — and I especially love that this fall will be different from any fall you’ve ever had, and quite possibly, ever will (because they say the first is the best!)

Leave a Reply

