Getting Ready

I’m getting ready for a trip here in a couple of days.  Heading out on a jet plane to one of the hottest spots in the nation right now.

And I mean that literally.

Yes, we’re on our way to Frisco, Texas, which, along with the rest of the greater Dallas area, has enjoyed a record breaking 37 days of temperatures over 100 degrees.

And we thought the hurricanes in Florida were bad.

What I’m wondering is, if my only child has to live 1500 miles away from home, why does it have to be in a place where the weather plays these ridiculous tricks on people? First it was Florida, with the ever present threat of being swept away by tidewaters and tropical winds. In Texas, apparently you run the risk of being roasted alive. That is, if you don’t spontaneously combust from the drought. It’s not bad enough that he drags me and his father into these places, now he’s bringing my grandson into the world to live in extremis along with the rest of us.

But, like any red-blooded American mother, I goeth wheresoever my offspring goeth. So off I goeth to Frisco, and pray the power stays on.

Seriously, I think I’m part of a new breed of parent/grandparent. Like nomads, we wander around the world so that we can spend a few precious moments every now and again with our children and their children. Within my fairly limited social circle I have friends who travel to Missouri, Vermont, Santa Barbara, Phoenix, and Texas to visit their children. I suppose I should be thankful – one of my friends from work just welcomed her first grandchild in Norwich, England.  And of course, my daughter in law’s poor parents live on the other side of the world, at least in terms of visiting this new grandson.

But don’t get me wrong – I’m thankful that I have the ability to make the trip, and make it fairly frequently if I so desire.

After all, when you’re getting ready to welcome a new grandson in the family, what’s a little heat wave?

8 thoughts on “Getting Ready

  1. You are certainly right about the terrible heat there in Texas, it is amazing how hot it has been there for such a long period of time. I know the heat and humidity we have been getting in Charleston, SC is just awful, about 100 every day and heat index of 115 or so.

    On the plus side, it is always great to visit family and especially to see new little ones. Have a great trip.

  2. I hear you, Becca. I’m one of those crazy-in-love grandparents, doomed to roam the earth only to get a glimpse of my beautiful grandchildren. It is worth it. Enjoy your trip and drink lots of water.

  3. It is amazing what you become accustomed to. The other morning I was sitting outside sipping coffee and it was only 90 degrees, which felt pleasantly cool.

    Daily, I send a prayer of thanks to the people who invented swimming pools and central air conditioning.

  4. Do they have a swimming pool? A slip ‘n slide? 🙂 I’m so ready for summer to end because the neighborhood kids have declared my house the hangout. Seriously, my doorbell rang and 9 this morning. And one day, the house will be a lot more quiet, and I’ll probably look back on frat party of 2011 as “good times.”

    I think it’s wonderful you’re willing to travel to see your son, daughter-in-law and that sweet grandson on the way. I’m sure they appreciate it, too.

    (As I was typing this comment, the power went out! It’s pretty hot here, too. Fortunately, my computer saved what I had typed!)

  5. Ah, the infamous hot weather power outages! We’ve had our share of those this year!

    My son says the air conditioning has been working like a charm, and there are plenty of cool malls and movie theaters. We’ll be fine as long as the power holds out!

    And yes, as mothers (and grandmothers!!) we gladly go to the ends of the earth for our kidlets 🙂

  6. It is much less common in Europe to have to fly such distances to see your family but at least our fragmented families keep the airlines in business! I don’t envy you the 100 degrees but have a feeling that the temps will soon be forgotten once you welcome your grandson into the world 🙂 Have a wonderful time, Becca!

Leave a Reply

