Dreaming of Writing

,,,and I mean that literally.

Last night, I had quite an interesting/disturbing dream.  In it, I was writing but the character was actually alive and in front of me, and words were simply gushing out of my head about him.

Yes, that’s the really interesting part.  This character was an old-school detective, a guy retired from some police force who had taken his battered desk from the precinct and set up shop on his own as a investigator.  At one point, I woke up and opened my eyes, but the words just continued flowing in my head, right where I’d left off in the dream.

Ordinarily, I’d say this “vision” was trying to tell me something.  Is this guy supposed to figure in my writing life somewhere?  Really? An old-school gumshoe detective?  I don’t even read those kinds of books.

But I got to thinking that he probably emerged in my mind because  I watched an episode of Detroit 1-8-7 we had leftover on our TiVo.

Still, I’m encouraged to be having writing dreams.  It must mean the creative juices are flowing, don’t ‘ya think?

I just hope next time it’s a character that’s just a wee bit more identifiable.

11 thoughts on “Dreaming of Writing

  1. Never mind thinking about what it means. You DID grab and pen and notebook and start recording, right? Right?

    I’ve never gotten whole scenes – not even whole paragraphs. But I regularly have the experience of going to bed puzzled or stuck and waking up with whole sentences or key phrases in my mind – or the word I was looking for.

    I say it’s my mind, working the night shift while I have a little snooze….

  2. One of my favorite authors, Sue Monk Kidd, is always talking about her dreams. And those dreams usually end up in her stories. That’s how she came up with the ending to the Secret Life of Bees. One of the characters came to her, shouting at her, saying she got the ending all wrong. So she changed it. 🙂

    Becca’s inspired. Look out!

  3. Not related to your post here, but definitely related to earlier posts. I saw an hour long program on CNBC last night called “Crackberry’d”. You may have seen it. I think it originally aired in January.

    It was fascinating, and what made me think of you were the extensive interviews with physicians and researchers whose research clearly shows a correlation between increased media-multi-tasking and memory loss.

    If you google CNBC Crackberry you can find lots of articles. I tried to find a video but couldn’t, even on their site. Maybe they don’t archive them while they’re still airing them, but you can find a broadcast schedule for it.

    • Wow, I have to look that up. I’m actually getting concerned about my memory lapses and losses, and general befuddel-ness. Someone asked me today how many days were in a year, and I couldn’t remember!

      Plus, I have so much more trouble concentrating than I used to have. I know it’s also hormonally related, but still.

      Gotta quit doing so much web surfing…

      • Actually, the web-surfing and googling was shown to be GOOD for the brain!
        They showed scans of brains doing this and that, and then brains – well, you know. Link-hopping. Those brains were lit up like Christmas trees. Apparently surfing engages neurons like crazy.

        What’s the problem is the multi-tasking, running iphone, computer, etc. all at once. Tweeting, texting, emailing, “researching”. It’s the jumping back and forth that’s the problem. One doctor said “You call it multi-tasking. We call it sequential tasking. You’re not doing three things at once, you’re doing three things one after another. Some do it faster than others, but it wears out the brain.”

        Really interesting stuff.

      • Hmm…that’s interesting about the positive effects of web surfing. I definitely need to do more research about that 🙂 I don’t “multi-task” in that way, so that isn’t contributing to my “attention deficit” problems!

        Thanks for the info!

  4. I’m usually a little intrigued by my dreams, and recently I’ve started talking in my sleep. I have no idea what that’s about.

    I hope your dream is the beginning of an especially creative period for you. Maybe your creativity is preparing to jump into overdrive! 🙂

Leave a Reply

