Ink on My Fingers

There are some things in life I hate spending money on…detergent and cleaning supplies for one, face creams and cleansers for another.  I hate buying socks and panty hose, too – no one ever sees them, and they’re so boring.

I don’t mind paying for gasoline (although I’d prefer not to pay quite SO much) or groceries. But as much as I love buying office supplies – paper, pens, pencils, notebooks, calendars, folders – there is one office essential that I hate to spend my hard earned money for.

Printer ink.

It’s outrageously priced for one thing.  Why can’t they come up with cheap ink that’s reliable and lasts more than a week?  I have a friend who refills her inkjet cartridges, but I can’t see myself ever being that organized.   Today, for instance, I was in the midst of a major project and of course, my printer ran out of ink.  Luckily, there was one package stockpiled in the supply closet, because I sure didn’t have time to run out and get the cartridge refilled.

I try to avoid printing as much as possible, although if I start working more at home, I may be forced to keep the inkwell topped off (so to speak).

Oh well, I guess it’s better than the old days when we had to change the ribbon in the typewriter – talk about ink on your fingers!

3 thoughts on “Ink on My Fingers

  1. When I started working seriously on the book, I bought an HP ink jet printer for $100. The ink is $70 (crazy) but lasts forever. But it has no frills. All it does is print black and white. But it’s fast. 🙂

  2. I’ve been thinking about ink, because I’m thinking about a book (writing one, that is) and I really need to see words on a page to know what’s good and what stinks.

    Thanks for the recommendation – black and white would work just fine 🙂

  3. One way to save on printer ink is to set it to print in “draft” mode if the document isn’t very important or essential. This can be done in the “printer setup” menu before you print the document. This makes the font come out less dark, which means the printer is using less ink. Drafts for your book’s manuscript can be printed in “draft” mode before you print out a final version for your editor in “normal” mode. There are inexpensive non-color printers that you might want to look into as well.

Leave a Reply

