Nesting

Spring cleaning was a huge ritual around my house when I was growing up.  Mind you, I was never involved very much.  My grandparents lived with us for most of my childhood, and my grandmother was the queen of clean. I recall coming home from school on late spring afternoons to a flurry of cleaning, painting and redecorating inside and out.  My mother would tie a scarf around her hair and actually wear jeans (something ladies in the 60’s hardely deigned be seen in).  My grandmother would cover her oldest housedress with a faded apron, and they would tie in.  In fact, I think this went on for most of the summer.   And if they weren’t cleaning they were cooking, the two of them in our cool basement kitchen turning out homemade bread, fried chicken, and fresh fruit pies. 

But I was always shooed out the door, never asked or even allowed to take part in these domestic dramas.  Whether they didn’t trust me to perform up to their standards, or were simply spoiling me by allowing me to play all day, I have no idea.  Consequently, I’m not much of a domestic diva.  When I got married and moved into my own house, I literally didn’t know how to change a roll of toilet paper.  Really.

After 34 years of housekeeping, I guess I’ve managed to learn most everything I need. And once in a while – usually in spring and fall – I get the urge to spruce and shine up the place. 

So that’s what I’ve been doing today.  Red impatiens went into the front border beds, along with solar lights.  The bathroom walls got washed with Murphy’s Oil Soap (just like my grandma used) and an old wicker shelf was taken down from the wall and tossed into the trash, replaced with some framed prints from our own collection of photographs.  New rugs and linens are up in the kitchen, a cool moss green color and design. 

For dinner, there’s salmon marinating in my favorite sauce, to be grilled and served with asparagus and wild rice.  Because I’m feeling so domestic, I’ll even share the recipe with you.

Becca’s Favorite Asian Grilled Salon

2 T Dijon mustard

3 T good soy sauce

6 T olive oil

1/2 t minced garlic

Whisk all ingredients together.  Marinate salmon fillet in 1/2 the mixture for 30 minutes, and grill.  Pour the other half of the marinade over hot, cooked salmon.

 Obviously, even The Byline was not exempt from my nesting frenzy today.  I like this clean new look,  particularly the notepad design which is in keeping with my love of notebooks and paper. 

How about you?  How are you nesting these days?

6 thoughts on “Nesting

  1. Becca,
    Thanks for the recipe. I’m going to make it today. Salmon is one of our favorite meals. I think grilled zucchini would be good with it.

    As for spring cleaning, I’m off to the porch to paint the railing. I hope it doesn’t get too hot today. I should have started earlier.
    Bella

  2. Becky,
    I can just picture Aunt Mary and your mom doing all that cleaning and cooking.
    However, the cleaning gene was not present in my mother. Our house was always neat and tidy but as soon as my sister or I got old enough – we did the vacuuming and dusting and cleaned the bathrooms.
    But the cooking – now that’s another matter. My mother was an excellent cook but she never let me in the kitchen either. However, I believe if you came from a family who were good cooks you pick it up easily and can usually figure it out. Mom did show me some things after I married my first husband, like how much thickening to use for gravy and how to make potato salad her way.The rest I figured out, used a cook book, or blundered my way through. Everyone tells me I’m a good cook and maybe I am – it just seems to come naturally to me and I don’t mind doing it. Cleaning however – well, I have a cleaning woman who comes in every three weeks and cleans. Like mother – like daughter.

    I love salmon and I will definitely try your recipe.
    Hope you have a relaxing and enjoyable Memorial Day weekend.

    • It’s kind of funny, but as soon as my Grandma died, my mom pretty happily eased up on all the cleaning and concentrated more on her own cooking and baking. We all reap the benefits of that change in attitude!

      I like to cook, and would like to have time to try new recipes. After working all day, I don’t have much energy for it, so mostly stick to the tried and true. Jim keeps saying he’s interested in learning to cook – but so far he’s all talk! I definetly think there’s a cooking gene that runs in the Crawford (or Crabtree) blood line. Aunt LIssie was a good cook too, although she didn’t like doing it much. Uncle Tex said she made better Mexican food than his mother!

  3. The sun has finally come out (hopefully to stay for a long while) and it’s given me a burst of energy. There’s a list a mile long on the kitchen counter and I’m delightedly crossing chores off as I complete them.

    The salmon recipe looks delicious. My husband doesn’t particularly like salmon (???), but will sometimes go along with it for dinner if I don’t give him much choice in the matter.

  4. Wow — you ARE busy! (And I’m copying down that salmon recipe — it looks terrific!) I fear that the habit of packratitis often prevents me from a thorough down-to-the-bones cleaning — I feel good to have things swept, vacuumed, mopped, and put away. So I am in total awe!

    My mom was a good cleaner. I fear it didn’t rub off on me so well as it should have! Bravo to you!

  5. A couple of weeks ago my mom came to visit “shall I give you a hand in cleaning up all your kitchen cabinets, I bet it’s been a while since you’ve done that” “euh yes, last spring” “what a year already!!”

    hmm her standards and mine also differ. I really don’t let anything take a mess…but I don’t work with fixed schedules that this or that must be done at least so often.
    Unlike my mom, i do put relaxation stuff and “me-time” on my to do list as well, so often I don’t get to the household stuff right away.

Leave a Reply

