Blossoms

Suddenly it’s summer, and everything’s blooming. 

I continue to have this feeling that it’s later than it really is – you know the sensation, I’m sure, when Monday feels like Tuesday, or Thursday feels like Friday.  But I certainly don’t want to hurry time, for time passes much too quickly already.  Do you remember when you first noticed time flying?  For me, it was my 16th birthday.  That was young, wasn’t it, to realize that concept of time on the wing? ?  I recall looking at my birthday cake with all the candles, and wondering how I had gotten so old so fast.

How funny, 38 years later. 

So we’re heading into summer now, and I’m thinking back to last year at this time, when I was busy planting a new perennial garden in the back yard, looking forward to the long hours of daylight ahead.  In just a couple of weeks, we’ll be at the first anniversary of my uncle’s death, an event that seemed to spark a series of  life changing events which turned the summmer of 2009 into what felt lika an ambush by life.  

After last summer,  I look at the calendar with some trepidation.  We meander along, minding our own business, until suddenly fate reins us in with a sharp, painful tug.   All those empty squares on the calendar when anything could happen.

But all the blossoms remind me that the “anything” need not be sadness – it could be something beautiful and new.  There is rebirth and regrowth every summer, on ever day of the calendar.

Pencil me in for that.

How about you?  What’s blossoming  in your life and your garden right now?

5 thoughts on “Blossoms

  1. Becca,
    I do know what you mean about time flying. It makes me dizzy to think about how short life is. We better take note of every joyful moment.

    Your blossoms are beautiful. It’s been cooler than usual here and rainy. My tomatoes are begging for sun. I know it will come, but I’m not sure they believe me.

  2. I’m not sure when time started flying for me, but it sure speeds along now. It’s a little creepy how fast it goes.

    Weather-wise we’re still in winter here. It’s been a bizarre spring with too much rain and even some thunder and lightening. But this weekend is supposed to warm up to 80. My tomatoes should like that.

  3. I have a patio of foster plants this year – geraniums pulled from the dumpster, a Norfolk pine thrown out by a neighbor, some dracena frozen to death in last January’s terrible freeze. I’m coaxing them along bit by bit, and even though they’re slightly scraggly and leaning and barely hanging on in some cases, they’re growing.

    Looking at them and thinking about the plumes of oil creeping closer to the coasts, I don’t want to nurture anything “better”. These poor plants are reminders that life still can emerge from near death – and we’re going to have more of that than we need around the Gulf this summer.

  4. I don’t find a lot of time for blog reading these days with time flying as it does, but every time I stop by your blog I am rewarded. I love this post – especially this:

    “After last summer, I look at the calendar with some trepidation. We meander along, minding our own business, until suddenly fate reins us in with a sharp, painful tug. All those empty squares on the calendar when anything could happen.”

    Ahh.

    When I was 16 I remember that I was incapable of even imagining what it would be like to be in my 50’s. Now here I am, wondering how it happened so fast!

    Love your blog!

  5. I so know what you mean about time flying. I don’t know when it happened, but now it seems to go forward with a vengeance. Sometimes far faster than I’d like.

    I suspect this will be a tough year for you in many ways, as you experience the first of sad anniversaries, and more holidays and events that are less than complete without your family intact. Loss is so hard that way… you just get through it. But it isn’t easy…

    Blooming in my life and garden… Well, life is about the same — work, eager for some time up north, more work, catching up with family soon. I’ll soon visit Cleveland where I’ll catch up with cousins (including Mama K, whose daughter graduates from college). And blooming? Well, the roses are out. They don’t deserve to bloom for the care I give them. And the peonies and impatiens and begonias and geraniums. Pansies are still going, too, and daisies. But the real happiness in my garden is the basil and lettuce and other herbs kicking in. Happy camper!

Leave a Reply

