Write on Wednesday-Hidden Talents

How many people spend their entire lifetime headed in the wrong direction, without ever uncovering their greatest talents and potential.  Could you be one of them?

 

Dancing With the Stars is one of my “guilty pleasure” tv shows, and while I love the dancing, and the costumes, and the adrenaline rush watching these performances, what I adore about the show is seeing people discover a hidden talent.  Not the people who stumble through each week doing schtick performances, or those whose football, basketball, soap opera, reality show star fan base keeps them in the competition – the people who have never done a musical or theatrical or athletic thing in their lives, and all of a sudden demonstrate a remarkable talent for dancing.

Yeah, there are some of those.

Brooke Burke, this year’s new co-host, was one.  A few seasons ago when she showed up on the dance floor, she had nothing to her (dancing) credit except modeling experience.  She was a mom, albeit a strikingly beautiful and graceful one, with small children running around her feet at home. But when she stepped onto the floor each week, she was a vision in elegance, grace, and beauty.  She seemed born to dance, as if this natural talent were just lying dormant within he, waiting for a chance to be released from its bondage.

Just thinking about that gives me shivers.  Could it be that lying within every one of us is some stupendous, unknown talent, something we could be so amazingly good at doing, yet we have no idea it’s there?

If only someone could figure out how to unleash everyone’s hidden talents, they would be a millionaire, wouldn’t they?

So how does one go about discovering this buried treasure?  In a book I just read, one of the characters decided on her 60th birthday to “try one new thing every year for the rest of her life.”  Although you’d likely have some rather excruciatingly ego deflating experiences, you might just unearth a hidden talent.

You could take some aptitude testing, try and see what the statisticians could turn up in the way of hidden talents.

I wish I had the answer – for me, and for anyone else out there who’s ever wondered what talents might be hidden within them.  For now, all I can do it be open to new experiences and wherever they might take me.

Maybe some wonderful talent will emerge.

6 thoughts on “Write on Wednesday-Hidden Talents

  1. Another wonderful post, Becca — and definitely food for thought! Yes, “DWTS” is one of my guilty pleasures, too. And I love it for all its reasons — the dancing and the costumes and that great band and even the judges. But like you, I especially love it when a performer not known for their dancing or entertainment skills really blooms. I don’t always think they should win, and yet sometimes, I wish they “graded” on improvement, too! I expect more from someone who has a show biz background, even if dance is secondary. Same with the skaters and gymnasts. But then look at Apollo Ono or that cowboy rodeo guy who made it to the final three. THAT’s what I love!

    Hidden talents. Golly, I can’t seem to master the ones I already think I might have an INKLING for! I’m not sure about looking for the new ones. And yet, sometimes they just appear. Case in point. I was an OK cook before I met Rick. I just didn’t cook that much for myself and it was more of an effort to turn it out for others. But he was a darned good cook (having worked in a restaurant and then making decent food for the kids — no dinner from a box for him!) I didn’t “study” cooking — I just started cooking more and more creatively. And then I found Food Network and an addict was born! Now I’m pretty darned good! (Maybe I’ll find my next passion that way, too!)

  2. Becca –

    Perhaps it is more “what can I bring to those things that I care deeply about” rather than “when will my talents discover me”? Perhaps my talents are not unknown needles in a haystack, but friends that walk with me, daily, side by side. Friends that have been with me all my life. That I know intimately.

    All I need is to call them by their names……

    Grete

  3. Becca,
    I turn sixty in a couple of weeks. Maybe I’ll trip over a hidden talent. Wouldn’t that be something?

    There are artists and entertainers and people in every field who find their talents later in life. This may be especially true for women after their children go out into the world or after a divorce. People tend to stretch after a loss.

    I agree with Tammy. You have many wonderful talents, and you share some of them with us. Thank you.
    Bella

  4. Becca, I know I’m totally off topic here, but I’m hosting a book giveaway and if you ahven’t read either, you might want to take a look! It’s almost summer and I need to shake things up…I’ve been a bit of a blog bore these past few weeks and need to turn the corner…so if you have a minutes, come on over!

    BTW, I don’t have to hear you play to know you have music and musical talent in you – it’s by the way you talk about it that I know…

Leave a Reply

