Home Alone

I had an unexpected day at home, brought to me by a wretched infection that invaded my upper respiratory system late Sunday night.  Thankfully, this unwelcome guest waited until all our other company had left, and the flurry of activity was over.  Then, it moved right in and set up shop in my throat and nasal passages. 

But enough of those gory details. Because of this nasty bug, I got to stay home from work today, too miserable to even worry about all the tasks that I’d left undone at the end of my rather unproductive day yesterday.  I spent the morning curled up in a chair with hot drinks, a heating pad, and a book.  By afternoon, I was feeling a little better -well enough at any rate to notice that I was home all alone.

That’s right – no husband (at a seminar), no dogs (at Grandma’s) – just me, in my house, like it used to be oh so long ago.

Wow, was that wonderful. 

So I got up, gingerly so as not to set my poor stuffed up head spinning too badly, and walked from room to room.  It was so quiet, and serene, the sun just starting to break through the clouds and illuminate the March sky.  I made some lunch and sat at the kitchen table, listening to the birds preparing for nest building in the elm tree outside.

I realized today, after the busy hectic weekend, and yesterday’s bombardment of tasks at work, just how much I needed some time just to be.  I felt content for the first time in a long while – relaxed, and happy.   I started thinking again about how convoluted my life has become in the last several months, how my work life has changed so much and is so unsatisfying, how I feel this tiny nudge in my soul telling me to move on, to honor the part of my heart that’s yearning to express itself in music or words, to escape from the humdrum everyday and do something that feels right.

For a long time now I’ve been trying to decide which direction to take this life of mine.  Although my day home alone didn’t bring me any definite answers, it made me aware that some move forward is needed.  

How about you?  Do you like being home alone?  And how do you know when it’s time to make a change in your life?

7 thoughts on “Home Alone

  1. I love, love being home alone. Solitude is an important part of finding solid ground after a hectic time.

    Feeling hungry to learn something new is the way I know it’s time to make a change in my life. I try to follow what ever it is that’s calling me.

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better.

  2. I hope you are starting to feel better again and the bugs are leaving you. Pretty good that while being ill you succeed in feeling happy & content. Usually I am absorbed in self-pitty at such moments.

    I enjoy being at home, but not for too long. It should be balanced: social contacts & activities versus rest & relaxation at home

  3. Well, I too was home last week with a nasty sinus infection. My husband was with me but he was sick too with an upper respiratory thing. It was not a pleasant time around the Bergeron home.

    I love being home. Everything that sustains me and nurtures me is in my home. My wonderful husband (although time away from him sometimes is good too), my books, my genealogy projects, my garden. That’s why I’m practically counting the days until I retire. I have so many things I want to do, so many books I want to read (one book a week – 52 in a year – it could happen), genealogy research I’m longing to get into, and volunteer projects I want to pursue. Not to mention travel – I love to travel.

    If you have the means to pursue your heat’s desire – do it. Live is too short to doggedly trudge through it if you have other paths to travel.

    Love your musings. We think so much alike.
    Cousin Bonnie

Leave a Reply

