Nesting

Thirty years ago about this time I was experiencing a phenomenon known as “nesting”…that period before a woman gives birth when she succumbs to a flurry of housekeeping chores.  Cleaning, arranging, preparing the perfect safe and beautiful space to shelter a new life. 

Oddly enough,  I find myself  with the urge to nest once again, to draw my feathers close around me and settling into a safe and cozy corner.  I’m not sure what’s responsible for this feeling, but there’s a clear and definite desire to be home these days, to stay inside with my family and my things around me, to remove myself from the rest of the world with all its demands. 

If I’m honest, this isn’t a new feeling.  I’ve noticed this tendency to withdraw from society for quite some time, and in fact, I’ve found being out in the world increasingly exhausting for the better part of a year.  I think it stems from a generalized dissatisfaction with my life – at least the one I live in the outside world.  The one that involves work and errands and traffic and cold.

But when I’m snuggled in my little nest, I’m happy as the proverbial clam.

Perhaps my need to nest  is a way of preparing me for something big, some wonderful new change that’s about to occur in my own small corner of the world.

Let’s hope it’s love-ly.

8 thoughts on “Nesting

  1. My bouts of nesting occur as I’m settling down from some upheaval in my life. It’s my way of grounding myself. Then when life gets busy again I’m better prepared. Being home is good, especially during these cold months.

  2. Oh, Becca, you aren’t alone. Every day I say I am so grateful I have a job to go to and all that comes with it, but sometimes I just want to be home for a more prolonged period of time, feeling very fit and fine (I must add that, for once I was and was in a sling and couldn’t nest much!), and just be. Pick up. Rearrange. Organize. Purge. Snuggle with an orange boy with a fine book. Make soup or other yummy things. Just nest. I hope you find that space — I don’t see mine coming all that easily for a bit!

  3. Isn’t that a natural feeling in winter? I always enjoy the ‘simply staying at home and doing household tasks, cocoon on the sofa with a book & tv, …” in winter much more. Whereas in the summer there’s so much going on: markets, music festivals, bbq’s at friend’s etc… and then I get in the opposite mood.

  4. I think the whole “happy as a clam” thing is a sign that nesting is exactly where you should be. 🙂

    Being out in the world can be exhausting… for years I resisted that I felt this way, intent on running the race.

  5. I understand the impulse perfectly. I just wish I could give in to it. When I’m at home, there is no time for relaxation – I still have lists of chores that can’t be avoided.

    I would give anything to be able to come home after work, and just sit down. Instead, I clean up, get mom’s mail, go down to her place, fix dinner, clean her kitchen, run any errands she needs done and then… come home and collapse. I think I’m whining – but here I am, carving out my time at midnight. It’s just the way it is now. And MY nest is a mess!

Leave a Reply

