Dilemma

Our Realtor in Florida called us this afternoon with two prospective tenants for the house we spent the last week working to fix up.   As a result of gargantuan efforts on our part (not to mention a boatload of money we don’t have) the house has been completely repainted and recarpeted, as well as thoroughly cleaned of acres of dirt and grime. 

The  good news is that there are interested parties already, on the first actual day of showing.   Both parties are single women with one child (one has a 13 year old son, the other an 11 year old daughter).   The bad news – neither one wants to pay our asking price, and both of them have dogs – Labs, as a matter of fact.  

You all know I love dogs.  But ask me how I feel about a 70 pound lab being left home alone all day on the new carpet we just installed? 

Naturally, the Realtor wants to seal the deal.  I’m inclined to wait a bit and see if a dog-less person comes along. 

What do you think?

10 thoughts on “Dilemma

  1. I would wait it out…
    I couldn’t stand thinking what kind of damage a dog at home from 9-5 could do to new carpeting.
    Hope someone comes along, quick! xo

  2. I’d wait…bound to be another taker without large dog. Certainly if you do rent to either of these people, they would need to come to your asking price and pay an adequate security deposit and pet deposit, though that’s not something to count on. My experience with getting to keep that money when I was a landlord in Florida was not good…took the tenant to small claims court due to damages…was told it was all normal wear and tear. Good luck!

  3. I agree with June and Bella. Hold out for the tenant you want. Growing up, my parents were landlords and I can’t tell you the number of weekends we spent repairing damage– not just from dogs, but people. So if you can wait a bit longer and find a good match, do so. Otherwise it’s not worth all the time, money and effort. (IMHO)

    Of course, it’s your decision and you’re a smart woman. Good luck and keep us posted. 🙂

  4. Two offers in two days indicates that the market is fluid. So, I’d say hang on for what you want. Unless you’re really desperate to get someone in there pronto. It’s a crap shoot either way — dogs and carpeting or no rent. If you can wait for number two — no rent till the right person comes — that’s what I’d do.

  5. Easy for us to say….. but the vote is in – WAIT. In the long run, it will mean less stress – even if stress is good for you! A little goes a long way, I think. Good luck. 🙂

  6. I concur. In the process of a move myself, the thought of anyone (human or animal) messing up the pristine carpets in my new house makes me sick to my stomach. However, you may find yourself having to rent to a tenant with an animal if it is a service animal as opposed to a pet. In that case, you will need to check Florida law with which I am completely unfamiliar. But in California, you cannot refuse to rent to a person with a disability who can provide documentation of his/her need for the animal in order to enjoy the activities of daily living. So, for instance, if a potential tenant provided documentation that the lab was really a service animal required because of a physical or mental disability, you could not discriminate. In California, you could still charge a reasonable security deposit specifically to cover any damage the animal might cause, but you could not refuse to rent. One of the things that we all need to consider before deciding to be a landlord.

    I am about to be a landlord again, but I know the tenant very well (I’ve been married to him for 24 years) and, in fact, he is going to keep our dogs right here with him. Buddy is about 14 yours old and can’t move; and we could not separate him from Sophie.

    I don’t know that I would want to be a landlord under any other circumstances, however. There are so many renters, esp. here in California, because they have lost their homes to foreclosure. It’s a different market than any we have ever seen before. There is money to be made as a landlord, but sometimes at great expense.

    Good luck with your decision and your relationship with the tenant you select!

Leave a Reply

