More Than I Bargained For

p8310042It’s been hard to find a balance this week, between school concerts and work and everyday chores.  There’s been a lot more running around than I’d hoped, more times in and out of the car, more waiting for rehearsal or traffic or for someone to get home.  Things haven’t always worked out quite right, so I’m a bit drained and off kilter.

But for the first time ever, there are bright yellow tulips in my front garden, their slender necks bowed gently in the warm afternoon rain.  Their needs are so simple – sun and water and warm soil to harbor their roots.  For all the long frozen months of winter they lay hidden underground, waiting for just the right moment to step onto the stage.  They have no other purpose but to be, and in their being, to make me smile every time I see them. 

I’m surprised at the pleasure I take in seeing these bright flowers, the yellow and pink and red ones, nodding at me each day when I open the window blinds.  Their appearance has brought more joy than I bargained for, perhaps because they are new and have appeared so effortlessly.  I realize that simple pleasures like these are an integral part of keeping my life in balance.  Like a deep breath for the soul, they put me back on emotionally even ground, something I’ve really needed to find during these past hectic days.

How about you? What are some of the simple pleasures that help you balance your daily life?

9 thoughts on “More Than I Bargained For

  1. The flowers do it for me, too. And hearing my daughter practice her voice lessons. The horses playing together in the field next door.

    Thank you, Becca, for a lovely post… and all the lovely thoughts it inspired!

  2. The blossomed trees make me smile every morning when I drive my daughter to school. They just sit there in their beauty and it always takes me by surprise. We are supposed to be such sophisticates beings and yet we are touched to tears by the simplest, most natural of things.

  3. I love the picture! Such perky little flowers.

    For me, it’s my dogs who help keep me in balance. Their cheerful spirits seem to remind me that I take things too seriously. lol. With them, I can relax and just “be.”

  4. Hi Becca, yes we have blogged about the same thing. I love your metaphorical flowers. We need to sit and just be, find our balance. Lovely.

  5. The smell of the air after the rain…. my old dog slowly walking back into the house after I let her house….3 cats on my bed at once…..and the emerging flowers too.

  6. I’ve posted this spring multiple posts on the trees openening their leaves and the bolbs flowering. Yes those make me happy too. The tullips, daffodils and blossoms are already over here but now I cheer up looking at my pots with herbs. I love their smell and green color.

  7. Oh, yes! Tulips, daffodils, flowering trees. They lift my heart every morning these days. Despite the allergies, I’ll miss them sooner than I like.

    My simple pleasures? Probably the best is the warm, purring body of The Gypsy as he sleeps beside me, unaware I’m awake and therefore not yet ready to pester me for his breakfast! And of course at the lake, the sound of the waves and the pine trees on a breezy day.

  8. Isn’t this a beautiful time of year?

    My simple pleasures are the aroma of coffee, the sound of rain, the smell of rain, and nature, nature, nature…all of it. Our goslings have arrived once again. I love them.

    Thanks, Becca, for making me think of these things.

Leave a Reply

