How Was Your Weekend?

Usually I don’t work on Mondays – at least not in the office.  But today I went in to prepare for the arrival of a new employee tomorrow.  Actually, it’s the return of a former employee,  my friend K., who was my alter-ego at work, and will provide a welcome respite for me.  She’s been working elsewhere for the past two years, and in that time I’ve become a little bit more indispensable than I’d like to be.

But I digress.

When I’m in the office on Monday’s my boss always comes by and asks, “So, how was the weekend?”   I find myself a bit nonplussed by this question…my weekends are either crowded with concerts or sedately empty of activity.  I’m fine with either one, really, but the pleasure I take from such  activities isn’t always readily understood.   If I reply that I performed in a concert and then played in church on Sunday morning, and that I thoroughly enjoyed myself, I might get a skeptical raised eyebrow in return.  “Really?  You like doing that sort of thing, then?”

Yes, actually, I do.

Conversely, if I reply that I sat around in my pajamas, read books, did some writing, watched videos while eating pizza and drinking wine, and it was marvelous, I’m sure to get an even more highly raised eyebrow.  “So, you like the quiet life, huh?” 

Yes, actually, I do.

Much as I enjoy spending time with my husband,  my son, or my friends, I’m equally happy with my own self for company.  Perhaps it’s the legacy of an only child, this ability to play well alone, recalling the hours when parents were pre-occupied and the only available playmates were imaginary or four-legged (both of which I had in abundance!)  I can happily potter around for hours on my own, and sometimes feel guilty for craving the opportunity to do just that.

As for my original question, I wonder why my boss’ inquiry leaves me slightly uncomfortable.  Perhaps my boss is the type of person who loves being on the go, attending parties and social functions, entertaining friends.  Perhaps she’ll think less of me if I reveal my tendency to introversion, my rather low-metabolic rate in regard to a social life.   A huge fan of the TV show Sex and the City, perhaps she’d prefer her employees to have a bit more of Carrie’s panache and joie de vivre.

Well, I’m afraid that’s really  not my style. 

So back to my original question – how was my  weekend? 

 Simply lovely.

How about you?   How was your weekend?

8 thoughts on “How Was Your Weekend?

  1. Perhaps it is a question to simply get to know you. I have no idea how to answer these questions most of the time. Weekend was a three day long one for President’s Day, and I spent it with the hubby, which is unusual given he usually doesn’t have those holidays off.

  2. I am SO with you! And you’re right — maybe it’s the only child thing. But I feel as though I have to personalities — the outgoing one who is always doing something (and for the most part, happily so, delighted to be with friends or at the concert or theatre)and the other one. She reads (I’m into two books now, and hate to put down either); she knits (and has one project almost finished and another just waiting for the handle to be sewn on; and putters with art or just “stuff.” Yes, that’s me. Rick left today for a week out of town and I’ll miss him like crazy — but I’m also glad for the downtime — no one to worry about but me, no other schedule than what I set up for myself. And I confess, that’s rather lovely!

    I’m glad you had the weekend you wanted! Mine was simply lovely, too — and isn’t that the best?

  3. My weekend was excellent. I usually try to mix between relaxing and catching up on reading and getting out of the house. It isn’t always easy to do both though! I hate overbooked weekends.

  4. I am embarrassed to say what I did this weekend. I got a flu-cold type of illness and had aches and pains and no energy. So I sat and watched Housewives of Orange County for like 10 hours straight on Saturday. On Sunday I graduated to lifetime movies, which I had to turn off after 15 minutes cause they are so damn predictable. Then I saw that Two for the Road was on, with Audrey Hepburn and I thought oh good, something of quality, but I didn’t like it much. When I woke up at 5:45 this morning, I happily got out of bed and went to work. My husband called later and said so, you went to work – are you feeling ok? And I said I was turning into a vegetable. I had to get back to work.

  5. Not one of my better weekends. I’m recovering from shingles.

    I like your observation of how being an only child helped you learn how to occupy yourself when alone. Even though my mother spent a lot of time with me, I also had the imaginary friends and the pets that you mention. I, too, find that I can play well alone and almost always keep myself entertained. I didn’t care for it quite so much when I was living all alone, but being alone and entertaining myself is fine when I know someone is eventually coming home at the end of the day.

  6. You hit a nerve there with the feeling guilty sometimes wanting to be alone… Happens to be all the time. I crave being alone just sitting around, reading, writing, sitting, whatever; just alone. Sometimes wanting this alone time means telling the babes “no” and I feel so guilty cause, he deserves everything I can give. So, it’s a loose loose sometimes cause I can keep from my alone time and be a little bummed about not having it while I’m hanging out with him, or, I get my alone time and have the guilt monkey on my back half the time. Eek.

    This weekend was fabulous. I wrote about it on my
    Monday Meme Blog Entry. I went to a winery with the babes, spent the day in the breeze with fruit wine and his company. Sunday I had a Quinces party I’ve been preparing for about a month and a half and it went fabulously. This weekend had the perfect fusion of work and play.

Leave a Reply

