Sunday Scribblings – Art

“It does no good to wire the world if you short circuit the spirit…”

Voices raised in song…rays of sunlight beaming through stained glass windows…the gentle undulations of a silk scarf draped round a woman’s shoulder…art in many forms surrounded me this afternoon as I sat in a corner pew soaking up the unbelievable sounds of a college choir. 

Music feeds my soul –  especially choral music, because it combines the two art forms I love most dearly, it juxtaposes music and language together in a complete artistic thought.  Today’s young musicians, The St. Olaf College Choir, exemplified the epitome of choral singing, their purity of tone and expression oozing directly from their souls.  The great Anton Armstrong, their conductor, spoke of music being an expression of their connection to God and a “dynamic means of grace.”

Art is grace, isn’t it?  For those who make it and those who partake of its essence.  Yes, the world depends on science and technology, depends on wires and engines.  But the soul depends on art- on the beauty of sound and melody, of colors of paint on a canvas, the perfect sentence in black and white on the page.   Art is what connects us to the spirit, to a mystical place of wonder where pain and suffering are mitigated, where we connect with our own deeper humanity.   

What good is all the wizardry of the modern world if the  soul is dark and bare? If only everyone could find an artistic spark with which to ignite their spirit,  then what a difference in the wiring of our whole world!

for Sunday Scribblings

15 thoughts on “Sunday Scribblings – Art

  1. So true! I’ve joined in on the “Keep Art in Schools” cause…it’s so important a piece to ones development. I’m a sports fan, but I do wish the money was doled out more evenly!

  2. Beautifully said. Reminds me of Walter Pater’s, “All art aspires to the condition of music.” And the human voice has always seemed to me the most sublime of all instruments.

  3. How very true. I actually sometimes forget the mystical part of my nature when faced with scientific truths. Then I hear a piece of music like this and I am reminded that that part of our being that recognizes beauty and harmony is the part that makes us truly one of gods creatures.

    Thank you so much. I will speak to this in my blog soon. It needs to be said more often.

    b

  4. “What good is all the wizardry of the modern world if the soul is dark and bare?” I loved this quote.

    Beautiful post and the singing was superb. I love that song. It lifts my soul to heaven.

  5. My microwave does not make me smile. I don’t race home to chat on the phone, and while I use the computer a lot and it makes things easier, the things about it I find beautiful and soul inspiring are the connections it makes to others who share words, art, and music online.

    When do I smile, when am I content? Let yarn run through my fingers; let my fingers glue colorful paper and cut beautiful images to make something new. Let me hold a brush filled with color and create something on a blank page. One might say the same with a pen. Oh, yes. It’s a soul thing.

Leave a Reply

