Fast Away

Though nominally a “Christmas Carol,” there’s one verse in Deck the Halls that’s appropriate to today…

fast away the old year passes, fa la la la la la la la la

hail the new, ye lads and lasses, fa la la la la la la la la

They pass away faster and faster all the time, those old years, whisking by at warp speed.   We don’t go in for big celebrations here on New Years Eve…an evening at home much like any other, perhaps enhanced with a glass of champagne if we happen to have a bottle around (which we did this evening, by the way 🙂  There were shows queued up on TiVo (Prime Suspect, the final episode, which I’d never managed to watch clear through), and the whistling wind outside lent us a feeling of smugness, curled up as we were with blankets and warm puppies.

Looking back on the long march of days just passed in this year 2008, the memories that stand out are not large ones, but small moments in time that seem quite symbolic of this life in general.  Moments like those we’ve spent tonight, just being together, moments which go a long ways toward easing some of that fierce discontent I was writing about earlier in the week. 

It’s funny, isn’t it, how one’s perceptions change with age, how a “good time” at 25 can be completely antithetic to ones concept of fun at 50?

As we hail the new year so close upon us, I’m doing my best to sing a cheery “fa la la la la la la la la” in the face of sour thoughts and weary aggravations.  Perhaps I’ll make that my mantra for 2009 ~ what d’you think?  My version of Scarlett O’Hara’s “fiddle de dee, I’ll just think about that tomorrow.”

But, oh, those tomorrow’s have a way of appearing before we know it, don’t they?

joyous now we sing together, fa la la la la la la la la

heedless of the wind and weather, fa la la la la la la la la.

May the winds of the new year be calm, the weather be fair, and may you have much joyous singing.

12 thoughts on “Fast Away

  1. Becca, the years do fly by too fast these days – although some positive things happened for me in 2008, I’m happy to see it fade and 2009 dawn. We have much to look forward to…and much work ahead!

    We had a quiet new year’s too – am still not quite recovered from the flu/sinus infection, so stayed home with duck with sour cherries, champagne and the Marx Brothers. 🙂 xoxox

  2. I’m glad you posted that verse — I had forgotten about that one! It sounds as though you had a lovely holiday and New Year’s. We were quiet also, though with friends. Just the four of us, talking like there was no tomorrow! I, too, am glad 2008 is over and that there is something to look forward to. And while there were challenges, there is also much to look forward to.

    I hope you enjoyed your champagne, Jane Tennison and a lovely evening. I look forward to much joy reading your blog in 2009!

  3. Becca – I enjoyed this post, as I have enjoyed your blog in 2008 when I started to get into blogs. I look forward to reading more of your posts. (We watched That’s Entertainment, parts 1 and 2 last night and were glad to stay in).

  4. The years do have a way of moving along more quickly … I wasn’t going to make any resolutions, but I think I shall resolve to try and soak up each moment more fully as it whizzes by! Happiest new year wishes to you & yours! JP/deb

  5. Dear Becca, One of the treasures for me in 2008 was discovering your wonderful blog and becoming a “cyberspace friend,” which is exactly like a real friend! Thank you for all your lovely postings, including this one. We, too, were snug in our house while the winds howled outside. Happy New Year!

  6. I fell asleep at nine o’clock on New Year’s Eve – slept right through the ringing in of the new year.

    Looking forward to more of your wonderful writing in 2009.Happy New Year, Becca.

  7. I’ve been reading and reading, Becca, getting caught up a bit now that the holidays are winding down. My own December was a bit muddled. The weather was so strange (snow in Houston!) generally that I wasn’t able to work much, but I did have a compulsion to write and pretty much wrote my way straight past Christmas. In its own way it was exhausting, because once you decide you’re going to write about Advent, Christmas eve, Christmas Day and New Year’s – you’re on a deadline! Those holidays don’t wait for anyone.

    But now it’s eased off, and I’m enjoying reading everyone’s posts. I hope you’re feeling just as snug and happy as can be to have a new year unfolding before us. I, too, am looking forward to your 2009 gifts to us.

  8. Hi, Becca —

    I just wanted to let you know that I have an award for you over at the Marmelade Gypsy. I couldn’t decide whether to post it here or WOW, so you decide! It’s for inspirational blogging, and certainly both sites are greatly inspirational for me!

    Gray and gloomy here on our last day of vacation before back-to-work. Sigh. No, heavy sigh!

Leave a Reply

