Friday At Last

An odd week, really, and I’m glad to see Friday at last.  A week of some changes around the homestead – the new landscaping is in, all squeaky clean, neat and fresh, these hopeful little trees and shrubs settling into their new home.  If they’re anything like their predecessors, they’ll be there for a long, long time. 

This house seems to retain life for a long while, doesn’t it?  My in-laws built it back in 1952, Jim has spent his whole, entire life here, and I’ve now lived here longer than I’ve ever lived anywhere else.  I have some photographs (do any of you remember those square black and white snapshots with the scalloped edges, circa 1950?) of the original shrubbery, looking just as tiny and vulnerable as these new plantings do today.  I wonder – who will be here 50 years from now to see how they turn out?

Another big change in the neighborhood – the dirt road my mom’s house faces is being paved at last!  Finally, after 35 years of mud and dust and rutted snow – a nice, smooth blacktop surface.  Her road is part of the last section of a major paving project in the township that will end with all unpaved surfaces being paved.  This is such a welcome  improvement that for once, I won’t begrudge paying my tax bill in September (well, maybe just a little.)

I’ve been watching a lot of television this week.  In addition to Dan In Real Life, I also watched How To Make An American Quilt (don’t know how I missed this one, but it’s a keeper!) and The Nanny Diaries (very poignant and sweet).  Both were adaptations from novels I had read, and both were very well done, I might venture to say I enjoyed them more than their respective books.

Also happening this week was a visit to a new doctor, prompted by menopausal “issues.”  I was very impressed with her approach and her manner.  She was warm, intelligent, non-alarmist, yet responsive to my concerns.  She treated me with dignity and took time to explain and listen.  The office staff was equally helpful and professional.  They arranged for additional tests quickly, and the doctor contacted me personally to go over all the results.  All in all, it restored a bit of my somewhat tarnished faith in the medical profession.

End result – there’s no need for immediate concern, although we’re keeping a watchful eye on the situation.  I feel much better.

Then, earlier tonight, our church newsletter arrived with the news that our beloved pastor has announced his retirement.  It won’t be until October of 2009, but the long process of goodbye has begun.  He has been with our congregation for 20 years, and literally brought the church back from the brink of ruin and built a thriving congregation.  Not only will he be missed, but it will be so very hard to replace him.  It’s a bit scary, because the wrong minister can absolutely devastate a church in very short time – I’ve seen it happen, and it’s not a pretty picture.

So, a rather disparate set of circumstance in my domestic life this week.  You all know I like to tie things together into some neat and tidy little revelation, but I’m not seeing any connections here.  I guess you’ll have to be content with a simple summary of my life in general for the third week in July 2008.

How about you?  What’s been happening in your life this week?

8 thoughts on “Friday At Last

  1. Yes I do remember those scalloped photographs…usually with the date printed in the border!

    Know what you mean about getting the road paved. Dirt and gravel are charming but…

    Glad to know that you’re comfortable with and trusting your new doctor. It’s so important to have that rapport!

  2. My life has been quite crazy this week, as it’s a transition week between a quieter segment of the summer and one that will be jam-packed and that needs preparation. I think I’m rebelling this morning – I should be doing a million things, but instead I’m drinking coffee and reading blogs. I have to get moving soon, though, as we’re hosting a birthday party in a few hours.

    It sounds like you’re experiencing several transitions yourself.

  3. I watched How To Make An American Quilt this week also. Perhaps we were watching it at the same time. *smile*

    I’m happy that you’re pleased with your doctor. It’s a good feeling to have confidence in them. So often that isn’t the case. I hope your situation has a positive resolution.

  4. Lots going on with us this summer too–no landscaping, but entire redo of the outside of our home.

    Glad to hear your doctor visit yielded encouraging results; I’m just starting down that path.

    Wishing you a relaxing but fun weekend.

  5. First I’d like to say that I think you’re a terrific writing… very warm and inviting. So, you and I both are glad that it’s the weekend. I told my husband this week was one for the books for me. Monday was my first day back to work after a 2 1/2 week vacation, I returned with a cold, oh and (yes) the monthly friend was along for the ride. I cherish the weekends.

  6. Is there something in the air around here? I feel like you just described my week as well. It has felt a bit unsettling, and I’d like things to somehow “pull together” more meaningfully. Writing would help, as would some time to read — and finding time for both is one of my ambitions this weekend. I hope you likewise find time this weekend to re-collect & restore yourself. Enjoy your new view!

  7. Oh, gee, one more change to adapt to. And medical problems also. Not being a good summer for you in some ways. Hope things improve soon.

    Totally understand how happy your mother is about the paving. We have about eight miles on sandy roads to get to our cabin and our vehicle is always filthy and it’s so much worse when it rains. Never been there in the snow. We came back to Virginia and when it rained we found sand in the driveway under the car.

Leave a comment