Sunday Scribblings-Vision

“I can see clearly now, the rain has gone,

I can see all obstacles in my way

Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind

Gonna be a bright, sunshiny day.”

 

Funny how sometimes a tune will pop into your mind, and, once there, refuse to leave.  When I read this week’s Sunday Scribblings prompt, these lyrics immediately came to mind, and now I wish I had an escape key for the microprocessor in my brain.

Nevertheless, they’re appropriate for the topic.  After all, “I can see clearly now…”seems the perfect seque to a reflection on the word “vision.” 

Unfortunately, it’s the second line of the song that seems to dominate my thoughts. 

I can see all obstacles in my way.”  I wish I were more of a visionary, but after 50 plus years on the planet, I seem stuck in my overly pragmatic (bordering on pessimistic) outlook.  Everywhere I look these days, in the wide world and in my own little backyard , I see obstacles – monetary, political, environmental, medical. Many of my own dreams are on hold because of the faltering economy and shaky socio political status.  Health concerns loom in my family right now, from the oldest members on down to the youngest.   All of life’s obstacles are clearly visible, and they’ve gathered overhead in the shape of some pretty formidable clouds.

At first it seems that phrase is a little out of place in the general “sunshininess” of that song, doesn’t it?  I mean, if you can see all the obstacles in your way, how the heck can it be a bright sunshiny day?

Our minister’s sermon this morning was quite appropriate to my thoughts today.  Entitled “Weeds in the Garden” he talked about the pervasive nature of “weeds” in our lives – those obstacles that spring up totally unbidden, flourish despite our efforts, and threaten to destroy the vision we have for our lives.  How do you fight these invaders? he wonders. 

Three things…a vision, a plan, and committment.  Have a clear picture in your mind of what you want your garden to be, make a plan to achieve it, and committ yourself to whatever it takes to keep the weeds out.  Of course, if you have a spiritual life, then God (or your higher power) becomes the guiding principle in your life’s plan, as well as in the means of bringing it to fruition.

Having a vision seems to be the key.  If you can dream it, you can do it, as the saying goes.  I struggle with that  – not the dream part, because I have those in abundance.  But in finding a means to make them come true.  And a big part of that is not allowing those inevitable obstacles to blind you to the brightness of your vision, and in allowing the universe to do its part in making the dreams come true.

So, I continue to work toward “openess to possibility,” toward looking for silver linings of opportunity peeking out from beneath those obstacles of clouds.  In the midst of economoic turmoil, I’m grateful everyone in my family has good jobs; amidst concerns about health, I’m reassured that hopeful solutions exist; despite a loss of focus among our current leaders, I have faith that new leaders will emerge to provide inspiration for change.

And so, maybe it will be a “bright, sunshiny day.”

  

 

17 thoughts on “Sunday Scribblings-Vision

  1. Becca, I know of what you speak. This immediately came to mind as I read your post:

    Hope is the thing with feathers
    That perches in the soul,
    And sings the tune–without the words,
    And never stops at all …

    Emily Dickenson

  2. “If you can dream it, you can do it” is one I have always struggled to swallow. The curve balls in life force us to be flexible and change our goals constantly.

    I just spray my round up (pray) and get out of my own way. The sun will always come out tomorrow, tomorrow…now that’s stuck in my head! Becca! lol

    HUGS

  3. I never thought of those lyrics in this light before… you had a good point, “If you can see all the obstacles in your way, how the heck can it be a bright sunshiny day?” I thought about that for a minute, and while I know your question was rhetorical in nature, I couldn’t help but want an answer. Could it be that when we can SEE the obstacles in our lives that we can avoid them? In other words, if we are aware of those things that seem to trip us up repeatedly, maybe we can learn to avoid them in the future. I don’t know. I know that when I’m trying to lose weight if I avoid ice cream and potato chips I’m less likely to head down a binge trail! =) Thanks for your post!

  4. Becca,
    Without obstacles we wouldn’t appreciate the sunshine.
    When we see the garden rife with weeds we can stand and stare and bemoan the fact that they are there, or we can wade in with gardening gloves on and start plucking them out one by one ’til the task is done.

    I offer a different tune to invade the garden of your mind: by Ray stevens:
    Everything is beautiful in its own way
    Like a starry summer night
    Or a snow covered winter’s day
    And everybody’s beautiful in their own way
    And under God’s heaven
    The world’s gonna find a way.

    hugs,
    rel

  5. we’re seldom, if ever, free of all the obstacles in our lives, are we??? — but without the sorrow it would be difficult to feel the joy, i’m told, so i try constantly to believe that i am being helped along by a bigger and better power than i know about, a helper to make my garden a beautiful one — what a thoughtful post this one was!!!

  6. What a great 3 point sermon! Personally, I think that the commitment is key (perhaps this is because for me it is the most challenging). [long thinking pause here] Actually, I think that the three are equally important because of their interdependence….and without obstacles, would there be any need for a Vision to begin with? (BTW…that’s rhetorical because darned if I know 🙂

  7. lol! I’ve had the lyric problem with these prompts too. I just love that song! You describe the challenge of a right brained person – you have the dream, but the steps to make the dream reality elude you. You need to get your left brain in alignment so you can make them happen. 🙂

  8. I’m feeling the creeping in of dark clouds at the moment also…and I hate that feeling. And the thing is, when I feel it looming on the horizon, I’m usually not in a place where I feel I can do battle with it (we are researching new siding and windows for our home and I’m beginning to feel there is no one trustworthy among them!)

    Still, there are those moments when the sun comes shining through; we must grab hold of its rays and allow them to chase the darkness of worry and frustration from the corners of our dreams. I like your idea of remaining open to possibility.

  9. A logjam is an uncomfortable place to be. It takes faith to believe it can ever clear; I am glad it sounds like you are beginning to find some possibilities opening up in your own life. Good luck!

  10. I too have a difficult time seeing the bright side of things. My husband, thankfully, is an optimist. Like you, I have the dream part down; it’s the implementation that’s the kicker. Thought provoking post, Becca, as usual.

  11. If you can dream it doesn’t necessarily mean that you can do it, but it does give one a goal to work toward. The journey in itself may be rewarding in unexpected ways.

    I must admit to some skepticism and pessimism, however.
    It isn’t the best of times, is it?

    This a thought=provoking post.

  12. I’m reading a book by Martha Beck, STEERING BY STARLIGHT, that addresses this very thing. I’m not usually into self-help or new-agey books, but there was something about this that caught my interest. You might enjoy it.

  13. For me the definition of seeing obstacles in the way makes it a bright sunshiny day … is knowing what lies ahead … the lyrics project hope! For me positive thinking “possimism”, setting goals and surviving adversity is healthy growth. Negative and pessimistic people, no way … no bright sunshiny day there 😉

  14. Obstacles are only obstacles if one views them as such and then actually lets them be obstacles. Otherwise, they are merely diversions.

    I’m a big believer in planning, but my life has never progressed by plan. It’s more like a tumbleweed with one thing leading to another.

    A vision and a commitment may remain constant, but sometimes the plan needs to change.

Leave a Reply

