Quitting

I have some quitting to do.

I know I told you I was done with my gig at the high school – and I am, I’m not reneging on that – it’s just that I haven’t made it official yet.

In other words, I haven’t quit.

I hate qutting.  I even hate the sound of the word.  It’s a hard, spitting, hateful word. 

It’s like no – another word I hate.

For me,  both words are associated with the end of somthing, and I’m much fonder of beginnings than of endings.  (That’s why I have half a dozen stories started in my creative writing folder and not one of them finished!)

I haven’t told anyone I was quitting partly because I didn’t want any end of the year hoopla about my leaving, and partly because I didn’t want to spoil any of the final concerts. 

But mostly because I’m a chicken.  That word tends to stick in my throat.

But I have to say to my friend Don (the new director at the high school)  – “I’m really sorry, Donny, but I can’t come back next year.  It’s time for me to move on.” 

Hey, there’s the sound of a beginning in there after all.  “Moving on” implies moving forward to something new and different, perhaps something even better.  After all, I’ve hung around doing this job far longer than I ever intended, mostly as a favor to my friends, and now I’m going to think about what’s good for me. 

Who knows what this moving on process will get me into.  But I’m going to quit being a coward about this and make my departure official so I can get on with the next phase of my musical life.

 

14 thoughts on “Quitting

  1. I have that same difficulty actually quitting things; once those involved start in with their pleas for me to stay, I get quitter’s remorse and give in. Unfortunately, that has usually meant that by the time I finally do quit, I resent having been talked into staying longer than I’d have liked and any remaining joy in the task quickly turns to burden. The trick for me has been in learning to consider more thoughtfully those things I agree to do and then sticking to my guns when (as you say) it is time to move on.

    I hope all parties involved will allow a smooth transition into whatever the future holds for you and your music.

  2. Good for you, quitting is not bad when it is not about giving up, but about renewing. I wrote about this for SS too. Good luck with your new beginning, it will be good!

  3. I remember the first time I quit something…quite traumatic emotionally and I had to do some real soul searching not to feel terrible about myself…this despite KNOWING it was best. After that, it became easier. Good luck!

  4. Quitting makes me quake, too, despite whatever fantasies I might have about saying “I quit!” and waltzing on to a new life.

    This fall, I had to extricate myself from some projects I never should have accepted, had in fact initially declined. It took months to summon the courage to say the words, and at one point, my friend who’s going through treatment for breast cancer became totally exasperated with me: “Just quit, and move on” she told me, “you don’t have time for things that don’t matter.”

    Indeed.

    When I finally quit, I knew I had burnt a bridge, but it has been good to gain the attention I need for the interesting territory ahead of me. I expect you will make the same discovery. Just say the words — you might be surprised how easy it turns out to be. Good luck!

  5. Had the same problem quitting our old vet’s office. Never did tell her. I think we’ll just let her do all of the yearly vaccinations and let the new place do everything else. We’ve seen them quite a lot lately for both dogs.

  6. “For me, both words are associated with the end of something, and I’m much fonder of beginnings than of endings. (That’s why I have half a dozen stories started in my creative writing folder and not one of them finished!)”

    I love that excuse!

  7. Why does change always attach itself to ugly words? “Quit” seems to connote lack of perseverence; “resign” sounds depressing; and even
    “moving on” makes me wince a little bit. In any case, I know you will say the right words at the right time. Much luck to you, Becca.

  8. I had my comment all figured out at the beginning of this post. I was going to writ that all endings are the beginning of something new, but you came to that part before the end of the post. I think women in particular have a difficult time quitting because we never want to disappoint anyone. I think it’s time for you to please yourself. You’ve come to this decision over time, and you know it’s the right one. Stand firm and go forward! Good luck.

  9. Moving on, moving forward, making change — all good expressions. I don’t like to say “quit” either because it is so “final” and while you don’t intend to go back to this, to say “I quit” makes it sound like you didn’t enjoy it or it was a difficult experience. It’s time for you to attend to your growth..you’ve accomplished as much as you could or wanted to at the high school and now it’s Becca time.

    Be brave — leave takings are always hard, no matter how much we want and desire them. ♥

  10. Becca- Think of yourself as Sacajewea and/or Lewis and/or Clark….just because they didn’t know exactly what lie ahead doesn’t mean that they weren’t “moving on”, does it?

Leave a Reply

