So This is…Thanksgiving

Despite what retailers and shoppers are trying to tell us, it is not Christmas yet – at least not in my calendar. I have a very firm rule about making no preparations for Christmas until every last shred of turkey leftovers are gone.

This autumn in Michigan has been so lovely, with lots of just-right temperatures and sunshine to spotlight the brilliant colors at their best. I hate to give fall up, hate to see it morph into the dreaded cold of winter. For the first time in a decade we have no recourse to escape winter’s chill, and will have to tough out the entire winter here in the midwest.

Nevertheless, we certainly have much to be grateful for this year at chéz Becca- most especially our wonderfully happy, healthy grandson, and his parents who love him to pieces.

We also have a lovely new home and are enjoying making it “ours.”

We have family and friends who support us and love us.

We have food on the table every night, hot water to shower, bathe, and wash our clothes.

We have cars and the fuel to make them go.

We have books and music and television shows freely available at any time of day or night.

We have freedom to write, sing, worship however we please.

We have so many choices about how to live our lives.

How lucky we are.

How thankful.

 

7 thoughts on “So This is…Thanksgiving

  1. Yes, yes! I am so grateful and full this holiday season. I can hardly believe this feeling I’m walking around with lately. Half the secret of happiness is simply recognizing our good fortune, and you’ve given us a splendid list. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Becca.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving, friend. I’m thankful for you and the lasting connection we have made. I’m going against type and will shift into Christmas mode Friday morning. With three kids, I’m learning that I have to give everything a lot more time than I think we need, but also, I really want to savor the season. I’m feeling the need to step up into my mother role and establish new traditions. Plus, twinkle lights make my heart happy. :)

  3. You are lucky, indeed. I am, too — in so many ways, but certainly for the wonderful friendships I have made through the blog and otherwise and my family. They always make me smile. Happy Thanksgiving, my friend.

  4. I know your day was a fine one. Partly because I’m coming to recognize there never will be another “typical” Thanksgiving in my life, I enjoyed my day, too. There were friends, and there was pecan pie. What more could a woman want? ;)

    Happy thanksgiving – and best wishes for a peaceful, easy holiday season filled with even more joy!

  5. I strongly adhere to the desire not to rush Thanksgiving. It’s so hard to keep one’s peace in this ever hectic (and materialistic) world. But, I’ll stand by you! In your case, you wait until the last piece of turkey is gone; in our home we wait until my son’s birthday which is December 7 to set up any Christmas decorations. It’s good to hang on to traditions, to hang on to the meaning of each one before flying on to the next.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

