The Crazy Side

Just finished watching the latest episode of Army Wives, one of the few TV shows I watch regularly.  In this episode, one of the “wives,” a nurse at the post hospital, receives an unexpected gift from a patient-his beloved motorcycle.  As a double amputee, he figures he won’t be riding anytime soon, and Denise has shared joyful memories of her youthful riding experiences with him.

Denise’s character is quite conventional – her husband is a bit of a brute, and her decision to return to work as a nurse caused huge upheaval in their relationship.  She’s reluctant to ride the motorcycle, and leaves it sitting in the hospital parking garage where she stops to admire it daily.  One day, a handsome young doctor rides in on his own bike, and they strike up a conversation.  She admits the bike is “hers,” even though she hasn’t ridden it yet.

“I don’t even have a license!” she says.

“License!” he scoffs. “Who needs a license?  You’ve got a crazy bone somewhere in you, don’t you?”

“Oh no,” she demurs, “I don’t think I do.”

“Sure you do,” he says with a wicked grin. “Everybody does.”

Hmm, I caught myself thinking. 

Where the hell has my crazy bone gone to?

Truly, I haven’t done a crazy thing in God only knows when.  The last remotely crazy thing I did…see, I can’t remember one.  I haven’t even gone out speeding driving in my car with the windows down and the radio blasting since way last summer.  I’ve been limiting myself to one glass of wine a day, going to bed at 11:30 every night – what could be less crazy than the life I’ve been living?

There’s been a restless yearning in my heart lately, a “need for speed” – not just physical speed, but a desire to feel a heart racing excitement, an adrenaline rush, a fist-pumping acclamation.  The emotional equivalent of that wind in your face feeling you might get doing 80 mph on a Harley.

Don’t you think we should indulge our crazy bones once in a while?  Cut loose from that oh-so-responsible person who always does the right thing, shows up for work on time, follows all the rules, tries to be nice and helpful and good?

Today, I met with my aunt and uncle, both in their 80′s.  He’s suffering from Alzheimer’s, she’s a cancer survivor who’s battling crippling arthritis.  They continue to live independently, in the home they purchased  back in 1954.  A few weeks ago, a man followed them home from the bank and robbed her as she was unlocking the back door to the home that has been their sanctuary for the past 54 years.  Now, she’s afraid to leave the house.  He has no recollection of what happened, no matter how many times she relives the story. 

Talk about living on the crazy side.

Of course, it’s not that kind of crazy I’m looking for. 

What I am looking for is an opportunity to enjoy life, to indulge my “crazy bone” in case fate intervenes and casts a shadow of true insanity upon my existence.

Anybody know where I can get a good deal on a Harley?

 

12 thoughts on “The Crazy Side

  1. Sounds like you need to go sky diving or drive a race car. ;-) Here’s to a (safe) adventure filled with lots of fun and lasting memories!

    Sorry to hear about your aunt and uncle. Why do people have to pick on the elderly? That is ridiculous!

    *smiles*
    Michele

  2. I understand there are a lot of good deals on Harleys these days…they’re being abandoned for even more fuel efficient bikes… :-) I have a saying: “remember to scribble.” Coloring outside the lines sometimes can be good for ones soul. It doesn’t even have to be anything exotic. Sorry about your aunt and uncle…that s**cks.

  3. I took my new Cruiser out for its first ride on Sunday all by myself — the first pure, unadulterated fun I’ve had in a long time. Barring that, hmmm… I’d suggest closing the shades, cranking up some wild music that you haven’t listened to since, oh, maybe 1978 (David Bowie? Elvis Costello? Herb Albert & The Tijuana Brass?) and dancing until you collapse. It’s just an idea…

  4. I’m seeing an affair coming with Denise’s character so that adrenaline rush stirred up more than she bargained for. ;) I hate that they killed off Amanda, she looked just like the actress who played her mom. You don’t see that on TV very often.

    Change up your routine, dance, skinny dip or do a road trip. :)

    BTW today is chemo app. for Robbin and she’s very scared.

    Good luck biker momma! XXOO

  5. As always, you’ve hit on something I’ve been thinking about lately. I wrote something in this vein last year and I think I’ll post it on Red Umbrella today. Thank you, Becca, for articulating my own feelings so well.

  6. I love the dance idea. Or get a great road bike and ride with the wind in your hair that way. Or have a sleepover party with friends (and maybe some tequila). Or take a vacation to someplace exotic, even for a weekend, maybe by yourself? I think there’s a lot to be said for the occasional letting down of hair!

  7. I got here via Anno and I love this idea. I nuture my crazy bone regularly in daredevil ways for my 40 years. It makes me feel alive. Thanks for a great reminder.

  8. I’m so sorry your aunt was robbed. She must have been terrified. It’s so sad when this happens to older people.

    I think some of us just grew up being responsible and we get our enjoyment in less exuberent ways than some people. Of course, when I was younger a few Bloody Marys could change my thoughts on this.

    I also guess I got my excitement when I was younger. I was on the front lines of our community as a newspaper reporter, and I later became a firefighter/EMT. Now I’m happy to be a homebody for a while. Not really cruisin’ for adventure any more.

  9. So sorry to hear about your aunt and uncle’s trouble. I’m sure your aunt feels she’s been robbed of more than her money; she’s been robbed of her sense of security and independence also.

    I must say that I do not walk on the wild side often, so I very few spicy ideas. Usually when I step outside the box, it is usually to do something I don’t often do (or buy, or see). So really it is more of indulging rather than cutting loose.

    Roll down the windows to feel the wind in your hair and let the horses run!

  10. This is a question I’ve been asking too…where is the wild bone? Where is the sheer, foolish FUN? Not sure…

    I am sorry for your aunt and uncle–robbing the elderly is just…the lowest a person can sink.

  11. Do you know I think I was nearly in my late 40s before I allowed my crazy bones to do something wild…and I wondered “what took me so long?”

Leave a Reply

